The year in fire wood

It’s been a while since I posted anything up here.  I wasn’t sure I actually wanted to get back to this blog, but I think I’m gonna give it another go.

I won’t be explaining the past year in a single post.  But I did want to to illustrate one thing I’ve been working on for a good portion of the last year.

A little over a year ago, Hurricane Sandy made her way through my neck of the woods.  It did some pretty big damage to my property, although luckily nothing hit the house.  We lost power for about 2 weeks, but (again luckily) we had the generator to carry us through.

Here is what the yard looked like in the days after Sandy.

Looking southeast from my back deck

Looking southeast from my back deck

Closer view of the mess of trees to the southeast

Closer view of the mess of trees to the southeast

Looking due south from the back deck

Looking due south from the back deck

Then the cutting began…

IMG_0901

IMG_0902

IMG_0903

IMG_0904

2013 01 Tree in back

On to the splitting and stacking …

EOD 4 130327 IMG_20130402_171537_992 IMG_20130402_171605_213 IMG_20130408_181900_179

Here is the latest … starting to get some real wood stacks …

131102 pic 1 131102 pic 3 IMG_1239 IMG_1240

Got a good variety in those stacks — ash, hard maple, oak, hickory, sassafrass.  We have a wood stove in the house, so the wood will get put to good use once it’s seasoned.  I’m also looking into a wood burning furnace and hydronic radiant floor heat — then things would really be cooking.

All of this moving, splitting (by hand) and stacking has left me with quite the strong core.  My aerobic strength sucks and I’m still over weight.  I can address all of that stuff in due time.  I still have plenty more wood to cut, split and stack.  Soon I’ll be at a steady state where I can get back to my regularly scheduled programming (running & riding) and use the work with wood as strength training.  It’s much better than going to a gym.

One last thing…as part of all this, I discovered this amazing place for info on fire wood, wood stoves, etc.

2 Comments on “The year in fire wood”

  1. Hi Bill – I have been wondering how you are. I have not been in NJ much but will be at my brother’s place briefly in December. I ran my 14th NYC – report on my blog. Pretty good but not my best – but WAY better than 2008 – 11! Hope you are doing well!

    • Hey Erica!! Things are ok. I’ve learned a lot in the past couple of years. I’m finally starting to feel better mentally and emotionally … physically not so good but that’s largely a product of the other stuff. Hopefully I get back into the swing of things pretty good.
      I checked out Erica Finds. It’s awesome. Really nice work there.


Leave a Reply

